EMMC Awarded the Nicholas E Davies Award of Excellence by the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS)

In 2008, Eastern Maine Medical Center (EMMC) joined only 25 other hospitals in the United States since 1994 that have received top honors for healthcare information technology with the Nicholas E. Davies Organizational Award of Excellence, sponsored by the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS). This prestigious award is given to select hospitals in the country for effectively using information technology to improve the safety and quality of patient care. In receiving this award, EMMC joins an elite group of top hospitals and health systems nationwide who met the stringent criteria laid out by HIMSS. Previous winners include such outstanding organizations as Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Ohio State University Health System.

Many employees across EMMC and EMHS have been working hard for nearly a decade to bring the latest in clinical systems technology to EMMC’s patients. Cathy Bruno, FACHE, EMHS vice president and chief information officer says, “EMMC’s providers and staff spent countless hours working with our clinical system to constantly make it better. It is their involvement and participation with our experts in the Information Systems department which have allowed us to achieve our goals."

Eric Hartz, MD, EMMC chief medical information officer, says this award is a crowning achievement, not only for EMMC’s employees, but also for the entire community. “In the end, it is the patients of our region who benefit. We have worked hard for nearly a decade to implement the most advanced computer systems on the market to allow instantaneous sharing of health information among all healthcare providers involved in a patient’s care,” says Dr. Hartz. “When the software that was currently available wasn’t doing the job we wanted, we challenged our vendors to work with us to build something better. It has been a tremendous collaboration.”

The Davies Award was initiated in 1994, and the first awards were granted in 1995. The application process is rigorous, culminating with a two-day onsite survey by a team of adjudicators. In a news release from HIMSS, Brian Jacobs, MD, chair of the HIMSS Davies Award Organizational Committee and chief medical information officer (CMIO), executive director, Center for Pediatric Informatics, at Children's National Medical Center in Washington, DC commented, "EMMC represents a shining example of how to implement and utilize the electronic health record along with other technologies in enhancing the delivery of high quality, evidence-based healthcare."

Move and Improve

Stay active, stay healthy!

Provider Finder

Find a healthcare provider near you.


Access your health records through our secure patient portal

EMHS Advocacy

Healthcare policy information

EMHS Beacon Health

The Difference in Care

EMHS Foundation

Help us help others